You are here


In Memoriam: Dr. Michael H. Harris


mage is from University of Kentucky Communi-K,  3/5/1984. Used with permission, do not redistribute.

Dr. Michael H. Harris. Image is from University of Kentucky Communi-K,  3/5/1984. Courtesy of University of Kentucky Special Collections. Used with permission: do not redistribute.


Nelson, Neltner named 2016 KASL Award Winners

Two of the winners named for the 2016 Kentucky Association of School Librarians (KASL) Awards were members of the School of Information Science family. 

Alumnus Matthew Noe appointed UMMS Health Sciences Library Fellow



School Librarian Alumn Heidi Neltner Receives KySTE Outstanding Teacher Award


Heidi Neltner is a librarian for Fort Thomas Independent Schools and a part-time instructor at UK SIS.

UK SIS alumna and school librarian Heidi Neltner was selected for the Kentucky Society for Technology in Education (KySTE) 2016 Outstanding Teacher Award.

UK Director and Professor Named 2016 Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award Recipient


Dr. Jeff Huber

Library Science Alumna Wins National Research Award


Colleen Harris-Keith (class of 2006) has won the Jesse H. Shera Award for Distinguished Published Research.  She is the CSU Channel Islands (CI) Assistant Librarian and holds an Ed.D. and M.F.A. as well as her MSLS degree. Her winning article is entitled “The Relationship between Academic Library Department Experience and Perceptions of Leadership Skill Development Relevant to Academic Library Directorship.” More on her research and the award may be found on the CSU CI website.

Shapiro, McGinley and Noe Receive 1st Place for MLA Midwest Research Poster

Two Library Science program students, Teresa McGinley and Matthew Noe, and alumnus Robert Shapiro II were awarded first place by the Medical Library Association Midwest Chapter for their research poster entitled "Information Access and State Public Health: Missed Opportunity or Miscommunication." The poster was presented at the 2015 MLA Midwest Chapter meeting.

Hurley named Outstanding School Media Librarian by KASL

Choi and Palmer receive 2015 Highly Commended Paper award from Library Hi-Tech

Dr. Namjoo Choi and alumnus Aaron Palmer received one of the 2015 Highly Commended Paper awards from Library Hi-Tech for their article "The Current State of Library Open Source Software Research: A Descriptive Literature Review and Classification."

Alumni Spotlight: Ben Rawlins Publishes Mobile Device Guide


Subscribe to RSS - alumni