Barren River Health Dept. accredited; joins 5 others in Ky. (Franklin, Fayette, Madison, Northern Ky. and Three Rivers)

The Barren River District Health Department has joined five others in Kentucky with national accreditation.

The Public Health Accreditation Board announced Sept. 18 that the Bowling Green-based agency and nine other health departments had been accredited, bringing the total number to 54.

Kentucky health departments previously accredited are Franklin County, Lexington-Fayette County, Madison County, Northern Kentucky and Three Rivers (Carroll, Gallatin and Owen counties). The Barren River department serves Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Simpson and Warren counties.

“Public health departments play a critical role in protecting and improving the health of people and
communities,” the board said in a news release. “Health departments provide a range of services aimed at promoting healthy
behaviors; preventing diseases and injuries; ensuring access to safe food, water, clean air, and life-saving
immunizations; and preparing for and responding to public health emergencies.
To receive accreditation, a health department must undergo a rigorous, multi-faceted, peer-reviewed
assessment process to ensure it meets or exceeds a specific set of standards and measures. The peer-review
process provides valuable feedback to inform health departments of their strengths and areas for
improvement so that they can better protect and promote the health of the people in the communities they

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *